Crowds Cheer Passive Voice Article!

…well, that may be overstating matters a bit. Nevertheless, The Passive Voice: Its Darkest Secrets Revealed! was one of the few pieces tweeted by Medium’s editorial staff on Saturday, which brought in (by my standards) a metric buttload of traffic. I’m jazzed right now.

In other news, Earthian‘s summer break continues, and I’m so sorry for the delay.  I’m working on a few fast side-projects (articles and short stories) in order to attract a little attention for Earthian‘s returns… and maybe even win some prize money along the way.  I already have an entry ready for The Molotov Cocktail’s Flash Monster contest, and I’m also gearing up to compete in The Hugh Howey Booktrack Competition. Hugh Howey’s contest has a $5,000 purse, and… wow. Just wow.  I’m probably going to need help with that one, and I hope I can count on you to lend me your vote!

As for Earthian, the season will be starting back up the first week of August with Chapter 15: Odyssey!

Cheers!

-dances awkwardly away-

6 Comments

Filed under Earthian, Oktopod Operations, Propaganda, Writing

6 responses to “Crowds Cheer Passive Voice Article!

  1. Darryl J.

    Thanks for the update Chris. Keep them coming. You have my vote where ever you need it. 😀

    • Thanks, Darryl! I really appreciate the support… even if I stupidly lost track of this comment, and didn’t reply for 3 days. Sorry for being a little scatterbrained. 😦

  2. Chris, sir, you are a borderline hero. I thank Hugh Howey for directing me to your masterful article on the passive voice, but I thank you for the *joy*. Keep the whole thing up.

    A fellow writer-star-in-waiting.

    • I’m feeling very bashful all of a sudden. 🙂

      Thank you so much. The response to this article has been awesome, and your comments in particular, both here and on twitter… well, I’m humbled. You’re very kind.

      I’m pretty deeply in love with grammar, style, and language in general (if it wasn’t clear), and I’m really looking forward to working on the subjects more soon. Probably this fall, after I finish up my contest entry, and the novel I’m working on.

      I wish you the best of luck. Just grabbed a copy of Rip Them Clean, and I hope you hit a nice solid sales rank.

      • No need to feel bashful; wallow in the justified adulation, my friend! You clearly know what you’re talking about, and are trying to actually help people with your superpower instead of the admonishment provided by the grammar police.

        It just to goes to show that a love of good language and cool fiction do, in fact, go together.

        Wow, I didn’t expect you to do that! You’ve been elevated from star to hero! The only decent thing would be to pick up one of your (more substantial) works… Yes, I think I’ll do just that. Stars Rain Down has been duly purchased. Good luck to you too, and may your sales rank also be ever-increasing!

      • No need to feel bashful; wallow in the justified adulation, my friend! You clearly know what you’re talking about, and are trying to actually help people with your superpower instead of the admonishment provided by the grammar police.

        It just to goes to show that a love of good language and cool fiction do, in fact, go together.

        Wow, I didn’t expect you to do that. You’ve been elevated from star to hero! The only decent thing would be to pick up one of your (more substantial than my extract) works… Yes, I think I’ll do just that. Stars Rain Down has been duly purchased. Good luck to you too, and may your sales rank also be ever-increasing!

Tap-tap-tap...

