Good News, Everyone!

As many of you’ve probably noticed, I haven’t been finishing a lot of things lately… and that’s putting it very, very lightly. Truth is I’ve been in a rut so deep I could hardly see the sides of it anymore, but I recently grabbed a shovel and started digging my way out.

The first order of business is an immediate shift in priorities. I am now working feverishly on the sequel to Stars Rain Down. I apologize to the dozens of folks who’ve been following progress on Arcana Universalis, but that project is now on indefinite hold.

That’s not all!

Idealogically, I’ve always believed there’s more value in openness than there is in secrecy, and I’ve decided to develop this novel in accord with that idea. For starters, I’ll be posting chapters here with minimal editing as they’re finished… but I’m not stopping there. I’ll also be posting all of my notes, outlines, and assorted scraps of text for your perusal. You’ll be able to read full spoilers for the entire story (and the entire Biotech Legacy universe) well before the book is ready to go.

Don’t fret. All items containing potential spoilers will be clearly marked, of course.

So, what about the book? It’s called Long Fall and it picks up roughly three years after the events of Stars Rain Down. The climactic battle in Russia led to a fragile peace, but new nations have formed and the world once again teeters on the brink of all-out war. When a strange discovery in the jungles of Mexico upsets the precarious balance, armies clash and dangerous secrets are brought to light.

Vague enough for you? Never fear. We’ll be getting mighty specific around here all too soon. Expect the first chapter right here at the Oktopod Blog in the next few days.

My plan is to finish writing Long Fall by the end of summer, after which I’ll begin editing. Once that’s finished, I’ll put Stars Rain Down through a new round of edits to make sure it’s in a good state for the impending release of its sequel, then Long Fall and the renovated Stars Rain Down will go on sale for $3.99 each, or as a combined volume priced at $5.99.

Think this is wonderful? Is it the stupidest idea you’ve ever heard? Leave a comment, and let me know!

2 Comments

Filed under Stars Rain Down, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Good News, Everyone!

  1. Nick

    The only problem is that I don’t want to read the new chapters until I’ve re-read SRD and I don’t want to re-read SRD until you’ve re-edited it and… well, you know. I’m stuck, so I’m off to watch the tele instead. Anything good on?

    • Sorry! Didn’t mean to jam you in a catch-22. And unfortunately, no… it’s exactly the part of Summer when there’s nothing good on TV.

Tap-tap-tap...

