4 responses to “Update: I’m Not Dead!

  1. Hey Chris!
    I remember this post..! Yep, I was one of those io9 browsers that was perusing that day you wrote this lengthy (and very interesting!) account. I remember being very impressed. Enough to follow your links to Oktopod.
    As another pie-in-the-sky dreamer of some future publication, I found your timely words very grounding and actually pretty darn inspiring. It’s very good to see you plugging away at your passion. Your take on alternate routes of publication is very cool. And I guess if there’s a reason for this comment, it’s to encourage you to keep doing what you do best. It’s motivating to witness for us on the sidelines.

    Posts that tell us that Oktopod is moving forward are more than appreciated! New works.. new contributors.. all of that.

    Anyways, best of luck with those martian satellites, man. I cant even imagine… *winces*

    Oh! And I grabbed a copy of Stars Rain Down. I’m enjoying what I’ve read so far! More reason for you to keep on keeping on.

    • Thank you so much! Glad to know someone’s out there listening, and if I’ve helped motivate you with your own adventures at all, it’s especially great to hear.

      Sorry there hasn’t been much talk about developments here, and it’s mostly because of a lack of said developments. I was pushing recruitment a lot harder at one point but I realized that I just don’t have a lot to offer prospective partners at present, so I turned more toward building my own following. That’s moving in the right direction (generally), and I meanwhile have a bigger project brewing, but it’s early yet and I’m still ambling toward that point where pipe-dream finally starts turning into something solid.

      Anyway… just wanted to say how much I appreciated your post. It’s simply wonderful, and I can’t thank you enough.
      ~Chris

      • I see where you’re coming from. It’s more of a “if you build it, they will come” style of approach. I can dig that; in fact, I respect it. From what I can tell, you’re on the right track. As glacially slow as this business is, your work is getting out there, and people are liking it.

        I’m doing the ‘get followers’ business model too. *elbow nudge* Putting my stuff out there (mostly in short form) for other ravenous fans of SF to enjoy. Some credit for my adventure clearly lies with you. You’re showing readers and writers that there are multiple avenues when looking for quality works of fiction.

        You certainly made me sit up and take notice!

        Nice to hear you’ve got some goodies headed down the pike. I’m eagerly waiting for some revelatory posts.

        Until then, keep it up. Should our paths cross again… and if I’m any good at this whole literary thing, maybe I could offer some of my stuff to Oktopod. You know, in thanks!

        Later, Chris

  2. Hi Chris,

    This might seem kinda late, but I did originally post this on Goodreads before I realised that it should have been posted here instead. So anyway, on with the delayed commentary.

    I can’t visualise the pain you are feeling with the stones. But as an owner of ALL your Amazon listed works (at full price) and one of those $20 donors, I can make this observation. You would have more income if I had more stories to buy! šŸ˜›

    Seriously, after owning a Kindle for the past 2 years, one thing I’ve noticed is the authors I religiously purchase have slowly increased the price to $2.99 or $3.99. Truthfully, I’m okay with paying that for a good story and from a author I want to keep writing. Even $0.99 for the shorter stories you produce is fine by me, as long as I have something to read.

    The problem you have at the moment, is the popularity index that Amazon use tend to swamp single titles like Stars Rain Down in favour of multi book stories.

    Don’t give up, I love your work and can say it was the first eBook I ever read and lead me to buying a Kindle.

Tap-tap-tap...

