Free Promotion — (nearly) Everything Must Go!

It’s that time again, true believers. Starting around 12:00am PDT, it’s another big sale here at Oktopod Digital Press! Stars Rain Down, The Salvaged Sword of Vengar, & both episodes of Arcana Universalis will be available for the bargain price of abso-bloody-lutely nada, so hop on over to my author page at Amazon, grab some books, and read until your eyeballs explode! And remember: it’s all CC licensed, so give a copy to a friend when you’re done. 🙂

Cheers!

2 Comments

Filed under Arcana Universalis, Creative Commons, ebooks, Stars Rain Down, Vengar

2 responses to “Free Promotion — (nearly) Everything Must Go!

  1. Just wanted to say that I read Stars Rain Down, and it was a solid piece. I’ve been reading a lot of self-published space operas lately, and SRD definitely rates among the best. It doesn’t help that a lot of self-published is mediocre and unremarkable…*cough*

    I appreciated your use of non-white-dude protagonists at times – it’s nice to see a space opera where women are more than lovers, doctors or xenosomethings. And where humans are more than North Americans with snarky humor.

    Which brings me to the down side of your writing (so far, I just purchased Arcana Universalis: Terminus) – your characters don’t have voices of their own. It only bugs me so much because you get pretty close – many characters have their own personalities and flavorful backgrounds, and those seem to occasionally interact with the story in some way – but absolutely every character speaks exactly two languages: snarky and sardonic. Don’t get me wrong, my favorite people are almost always both, but some commonly featured characters should probably have some other way of speaking.

    But I know writers evolve (reading my friend’s vampire fiction was…Well, I stopped doing it for good reasons), and this could totally be old criticism by now. Good luck, I hope your work gets more of the attention it deserves.

    • Sorry for the slow reply. Things have been, ummm… interesting… in not entirely good ways. But I digress.

      You’re absolutely right about my characters lacking distinct voices, and it’s something I’ve been trying to work on. I really appreciate the honesty, and am very glad you seem to have enjoyed the story despite its shortcomings.

      Cheers, and thanks for dropping by!
      ~Chris

Tap-tap-tap...

