Stars Rain Down’s First Anniversary!

It’s been a year since I unleashed Stars Rain Down onto an unsuspecting world, and I think we can all agree that civilization simply hasn’t been the same since. This little sci-fi-novel-that-could took the world by storm, selling… golly, dozens of copies at least… while I’ve gone from virtual nobody to globe trotting celebrity whose face is plastered all over the tabloids.

Gah! There’s the paparazzi now!

But seriously, it’s been a weird and exciting ride so far, and the feeling of getting my work out there into the hands of perfect strangers has been in turns terrifying, exhilarating, and awfully damn gratifying. Total downloads are over 12,000 (!), and that’s a number I honestly don’t even know how to process. I just can’t imagine it, and believe me, I’ve tried.

Oh, how I’ve tried.

So, what’s next for me and my make believe press? Well, there’s one big step I’ve been dragging my feet on, and you can see what it is right after the jump.

Yep, it was time to chop off my afro and triumphantly return to the shark-fin. Shark-fin! Hot damn, my aerodynamics are amazing. Amazing!

Awesome, right?

Oh, I also got this in the mail today:

Oktopod Digital Press is officially entering the world of print thanks to the kind folks at CreateSpace. Copies aren’t available just yet as I’m still ironing out some fiddly little details, but you’ll finally be able to order your own print edition of Stars Rain Down in just a few weeks. We’re really close now. Wonderfully, awesomely, massively close.

I may not be a bestseller or have any awards to decorate my shelf with yet, but I’m so much closer than I was just a few years back. Things are in motion after an eternity of waiting, and as much as I may joke or make sarcastic comments about it all, this whole thing is colossally important to me. So is every single one of you reading this. I just want to thank you all for checking out my work and giving me a chance, and I hope you’ll stick around as I embark on my sophomore year. I can’t guarantee what that year will hold, but I know it’s only going to get better from here on out.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I think I’ve got some writing to do.
~Chris

5 Comments

Filed under ebooks, Oktopod Operations, Propaganda, Releases, Self-Publishing, Stars Rain Down

5 responses to “Stars Rain Down’s First Anniversary!

  1. Gratz! keep it going and good luck!

  2. Neil Limmer

    Really enjoyable stuff: Hurry up and get famous.

  3. Aylwin

    Just finish reading your ecopy of the stars rain down this month nov 2011.
    Congrats on your first anniverssary. it is a fantastic piece of story. keep it going and hopefully there will be a sequel coming.

    cheers Aylwin

  4. Daniel

    Stars Rain Down, I really like this book,, you’re writing really give life to the world and characters, so it’s like being in the story white characters and when the book endend it’s like where did my friend go and you just whant tho read more about them , keep up the good work and manny thanks and good luck!

Tap-tap-tap...

