Square Update 2: The Electric Boogaloo

It’s been nearly a month since my last post, and it’s taken me this long to post again partially out of frustration, and partially because I’m really bad at consistency. That all being said, it seems my frustration was slightly misplaced, and my Chuck Jones inspired temper tantrum was entirely in error. Despite a rage-inducing lull that lasted a full week, the rest of April picked up and I ended up hitting my monthly average on the nose.

The moral of this story? Slow and steady wins the race. Wait, that’s not right… ummm… Better safe than sorry? No, not that either. Don’t stick your hand in a viper’s nest? Blast, none of these are working. Oh, I think I have it: Don’t count your failures before they’ve hatched.

If I were being more cynical (is that possible?), I might come to the conclusion that nothing I do matters, and I’m bound to sell one copy every-other-day regardless of the cover or description. I don’t really like that conclusion, so I refuse to come to it. On the other hand, it seems as if the square cover really isn’t hurting anything, so I’ll be running with that for a while.

Oh well, back to the story-mines I go. I’ll hopefully be posting some more information about Universalis this month, but nothing is set in stone just yet. Cheers!

4 Comments

Filed under ebooks, Oktopod Operations, Self-Publishing, Stars Rain Down

4 responses to “Square Update 2: The Electric Boogaloo

  1. It’ a marathon, not a sprint. Hang in there.

    • I try so hard to remember that, but being a bit on the chunky side, I’m rather prone to short bursts of vicious effort followed immediately by ragged breathing, profuse perspiration, and an eventual collapse into a Jell-O™-like heap.

      I appreciate the reminder and encouragement, though. 😉

  2. Austin

    I have to admit Stars Rain Down was one of the most amazing sci-fi books I’ve ever read. Topping all of Crichtons’ books completely. For that I thank you, I’m actually here in the next week or two buying it just so I can have a hard copy. All I’m saying is keep up the good work, I loved your book and hope for a sequel and you bet I’ll buy it as soon as it comes out(if). I’ve already told my other bookworm friends about it and some of them picked up the CC version on android.

    • @Austin

      Thank you so much for the kind words, the enthusiasm, and thanks especially for helping me spread the word! I accidentally blew my marketing budget on a pack of gum this month, so any help I can get is definitely appreciated.

      Also, please be sure to have your friends drop by here for an updated copy of Stars Rain Down; the version available through Feedbooks hasn’t been updated since the original release, and it contains a few slightly embarrassing errors. Of course, you could also just send them the copy you have, as all versions of the book carry the same Creative Commons license.

      Thanks again, and I hope to get you some new reading material very soon.

      ~Chris

Tap-tap-tap...

