First Progress Report

“A beginning is the time for taking the most delicate care that the balances are correct.”
—Frank Herbert, Dune

Hey look, it only took me two weeks to get around to the first post! No need to congratulate me, faithful reader. Success is its own reward, after all.

I’ll be avoiding specific details about the book as I post these, since I’ve found it can really sap momentum. You find yourself talking about the story, the characters and the setting, and at the end of the day, you’ve used up all of your excitement. It’s essentially the same kind of work as the writing itself, and I’ve found it’s better to invest that effort in the task that actually helps me finish.

Grod knows I need all the help I can get.

I’ll tell you this much, though: the book is called Hurt Tomorrow, and it’s a sci-fi action thriller. The story is a lot more personal and focused than something like Stars Rain Down, and my ultimate goal is to produce a novel as tightly paced and exciting as an action film.

I’m still working on the opening scene, and have a word count somewhere around 650. I always find the start of a project to be the slowest part; you’re trying to establish setting and tone, and at the same time, there’s a lot of pressure to really nail it. These are the pages that need to hook the reader, and that requires a lot of care and attention.

I hope to be done with the opening chapter in the next few days, and then catch my wind and start plowing through pages. My daily goal is 1,000 words (which I obviously haven’t been hitting so far), but I know from experience that I can occasionally knock out 4-5,000 in a night… especially if I have an impending deadline. Man, I wish I had deadlines.

We now return you to your regularly scheduled programming.
~Chris

Leave a comment

Filed under ebooks, Hurt Tomorrow

Tap-tap-tap...

