News: New Kindle Due August 27th

Amazon announced the next Kindle model today and it’s smaller, cheaper, has twice the storage capacity, twice the battery life, and a higher-contrast screen. Here’s the skinny:

  • 6-inch E-Ink display
  • Wi-Fi and 3G ($189), Wi-Fi only ($139)
  • 21 percent smaller than previous Kindle
  • 15 percent lighter (8.7 ounces)
  • Like the new Kindle DX, screen offers 50 percent better contrast
  • 20 percent faster page turns, according to Amazon
  • 4GB built-in memory
  • Smaller page-turn buttons that are also quieter (clicking noise is nearly silent)
  • Up to four weeks of battery life from sealed-in battery (wireless turned off)

They’re also advertising a web-browser and improvements to its text-to-speech and PDF rendering… features I completely fail to care about, but I’m sure someone cares about them. You can find a more thorough write-up (which I thoroughly ripped off) over at cnet.

Color me impressed. I usually try to keep my gadget lust in check, but boy howdy do I want one. In fact, if the new Kindle had an open source software stack and user replaceable battery, I’d probably ask it to marry me.

Aw hell, I may just ask it anyway. I’ve got until August 27th to pick out the ring.

Leave a comment

Filed under e-readers

Tap-tap-tap...

